Philip Seymour Hoffman

Philip_Seymour_Hoffman_smile_1

Philip Seymour Hoffman photographed for Premiere in 1999. I was told later that it was one of his favorite sessions.

Philip Seymour Hoffman photographed in New York  for Premiere Magazine, 1999. I was told later that it was one of his favorite sessions.

I did three sittings with Philip Seymour Hoffman but it’s the time that I had a random lunch with him three years after working together that I find myself thinking about.

Running errands on a spring Saturday I popped into a hot dog joint on Lafayette, just south of Bleecker. A minute after I placed my order at the corner Philip came in. The place was almost empty, so I went up and said hello. He recognized me right away and was friendly, if low-key.

We sat down and ate. He had a cheeseburger and I had two hot dogs wrapped in bacon with hot sauce.

During our conversation I congratulated him on his Best Actor Oscar for “Capote”, which he had received only days before. I told him that he can’t now go off and do stupid big-budget action movies (a common misstep by past winners). He chewed his sandwich for a couple of seconds and then told me that his next picture was “Mission Impossible III”.

Philip Seymour Hoffman and John C. Reilly, photographed for Time Out New York in 2001. I don't remember even speaking with them - it was so fast moving I was just trying to get it all on film.

Philip Seymour Hoffman and John C. Reilly, photographed for Time Out New York in 2001.

I don't remember even speaking with them - it was so fast moving I was just trying to get it all on film.

I don’t remember even speaking with them – I was just trying to get it all on film.

He was fun to photograph, and he brought real joy to his performances. He’ll be missed.

Philip Seymour Hoffman photographed at Sundance Film Festival for Entertainment Weekly in 2003.

Philip Seymour Hoffman at Sundance Film Festival for Entertainment Weekly in 2003.

This entry was posted in Archive, Editorial, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Philip Seymour Hoffman

  1. Linda Kuo says:

    I am such a fan Mr. Buck. Such whimsy. So bittersweet

  2. Cynthia Wood says:

    These are all brilliant. Thanks for sharing them — and the hot dog joint story.

    Hope all is well with you, –Cynthia

      CYNTHIA WOOD | PHOTOGRAPHY Tel. 415.533.4175 http://www.cynthiawoodphoto.com I’m also on Instagram + Flickr

    >________________________________ > From: Chris Buck News >To: cynthia.wood@sbcglobal.net >Sent: Friday, February 7, 2014 11:55 AM >Subject: [New post] Philip Seymour Hoffman > > > > WordPress.com >Chris posted: ” I did three sittings with Philip Seymour Hoffman but it’s the time that I had a random lunch with him three years after working together that I find myself thinking about. Running errands on a spring Saturday I popped into a hot dog joint on Lafaye” >

  3. Beautiful article – I shared it – yes, the hot dog joint story is the best 🙂
    Thanks!

Leave a comment