Inspiration: The Family 1976

Rolling_Stone_Family_001

A short time ago, my colleague John Keatley asked me via Twitter what was the favorite photo book that I owned. My response was that my favorite book was neither a book, nor did I own it. It was Rolling Stone’s special political issue of October 21, 1976, featuring 69 portraits of the Washington D.C. establishment by Richard Avedon. This question prompted me to find the issue online and purchase it as a holiday gift to myself. And I couldn’t be happier that I did!

(I actually posted previously on my blog my favorite five photo books here.)

A sample page from Rolling Stone's October 21st, 1976 issue. Clockwise from upper left: Shirley Chishom, George McGovern, Rosemary Woods. Cy Vance

A sample page from Rolling Stone October 21, 1976. Clockwise from upper left: Shirley Chisholm, George McGovern, Rose Mary Woods. W. Mark Felt (coming out as “Deep Throat” almost 30 years later).  Photos by Richard Avedon.

Ronald Reagan, four years before his presidential victory.

Ronald Reagan, four years before his presidential victory. Photo by Richard Avedon.

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Photographer Colleagues, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Inspiration: The Family 1976

  1. Linda Kuo says:

    Really interesting recommendations. The jump book is fantastic!

Leave a comment