Kobe: The Movie movie

Kobe The Movie Movie Premiere, in this week's ESPN The Magazine Magazine

Kobe: The Movie movie premiere, in this week’s ESPN The Magazine magazine.

The current issue of ESPN The Magazine features a strange story that appears to be documents related to a biopic on the great Kobe Bryant. There are screenplays describing key episodes of his life, storyboards, and even a block-buster movie poster; featured alongside all of this are my “behind-the-scenes” photos related to this film (we ordered a live-sized standee of the man, as a stand-in). The package is beautiful, magical, and just absurd. I’m very pleased that Karen Frank and the ESPN photo team invited me to be part of it.

I’m especially excited to be doing more complex group photographs. My background largely consists of single subject portraits but I’ve always loved elaborate group pictures (like this, and this) so I’m taking on assignments like this with a verve.

Kobe, behind-the-scenes, sort of.

Kobe Bryant, behind-the-scenes, sort of.

Amazingly the "grip" on the left was actually cast, he's not part of my crew.

Amazingly the “grip” on the left was actually cast, he’s not part of my crew.

The elder Kobe and the aged Michael Jordan compare accomplishments.

The elder Kobe and the aged Michael Jordan compare accomplishments.

I’m keen to develop my motion portfolio right now so I invited Rhys Ernst (who shot my Patton Oswalt Wired video) to shoot some footage, allowing us to make a promo teaser for the issue. It’s a bit Charlie Chaplin, with Luis Bunuel thrown in (with all due respect to both figures).

This entry was posted in Behind The Scenes, Editorial, On Set, Photography, Videos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

