Who Is Mac DeMarco?

This might be the best picture that I've taken so far this year. He's wearing my suit (which might look better on him than me). The tie was a Christmas gift from Jerry Stiller.

This might be the best picture that I’ve taken so far this year. He’s wearing my suit (which might look better on him than me). The tie was a Christmas gift from Jerry Stiller.

I’ve been a fan of Pitchfork for a long time so I was pleased when they contacted me to photograph Mac DeMarco and I worked hard to wow them.

Mac is strangely just like his persona; sweet, funny and super laid-back. I wanted to keep that, but amplify it – and add some surprises. I’m happy with the results.

Visiting Mac at home I measure his neck to fit him for wardrobe.

Visiting Mac at home I measure his neck to fit him for wardrobe.

I took a lot of snaps of his apt - kinda irresistible. The paradox with Mac Demarco is that he's genuinely nonchalant but still ambitious enough to move a couple of times to put himself closer to the music and media centers (originally from Edmonton, Alberta, he first re-located to Montreal, and now lives in Bushwick, Brooklyn).

I took a lot of snaps of his apt – kinda irresistible. The paradox with Mac DeMarco is that he’s genuinely nonchalant but still ambitious enough to move a couple of times to put himself closer to the music and media centers (originally from Edmonton, Alberta, he first re-located to Montreal, and now lives in Bushwick, Brooklyn).

We did a shot of Mac at a typewriter and at times I'd see him pounding away on it as we adjusted the lighting and such. Hours later when we were cleaning up I found this discarded piece of paper on the floor.

We did a shot of Mac at a typewriter and at times I’d see him pounding away on it as we adjusted the lighting and such. Hours later when we were cleaning up I found this discarded piece of paper on the floor.

I've long wanted to do an homage to Yousuf Karsh's Tennessee Williams portrait. It was fun to re-create with Mac Demarco but I'm afraid that mine falls far short of the original.

I’ve long wanted to do an homage to Yousuf Karsh’s Tennessee Williams portrait. It was fun to re-create with Mac DeMarco but I’m afraid that mine falls far short of the original.

This entry was posted in Behind The Scenes, On Set, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Is Mac DeMarco?

  1. Linda Kuo says:

    One of my all time favorites. Just fantastic!!

  2. It’s impressive, i like it a lot!

Leave a Reply

